In India, volleyball holds the distinction of being one of the most popular sports. Even though the sport is not broadcast on TV as much as compared with some of the other sports in India, the significance of volleyball remains unwavering, transcending both urban and rural landscapes. The familiarity and widespread appeal of the sport contributed to the heightened interest in the inter-house volleyball competition at AVM.

The event transpired on January 1, 2024, at the Volleyball ground of Atmiya Vidya Mandir. Since the campus accommodates two volleyball courts, it was possible to facilitate concurrent matches for both junior and senior groups. The schedule allocated for the sub-junior matches was 3:45 to 4:45 pm, while the junior and senior group matches took place from 5:15 to 6:15 pm.

The inaugural day of the competition was graced by the esteemed presence of Ishwar Sir and Mahendra Bapa as chief guests. Over the subsequent three days, the matches unfolded in a sensational and captivating manner. The athletes across the age groups showcased exceptional skills, executing intricate moves and displaying quick reflexes—a testament to the effective guidance provided by their coaches.

Each house demonstrated remarkable team spirit, converging at the centre of the court to fervently cheer their teammates. Prior to each game, a collective chant of “We are One” resonated across the court, underscoring the sportsmanship exhibited by all teams.

The ambiance throughout the competition exuded energy and cheerfulness, with the audience maintaining unwavering support for their respective houses. Despite adverse weather conditions characterised by cold winds, the on-court atmosphere remained heated with the intensity of competition.

On the culminating day, the presence of Mahendra Bapa, Nandlal Kaka, Manish Bhai, and Ishwar Sir added an extra layer of significance to the finals. The athletes exhibited heightened determination, fiercely contending for every point. The volleyball inter-house competition then reached its conclusion with a ceremonious trophy presentation.

The final results of the competition were as follows:

Group Finalists Champions
Sub-Junior Satyam vs Suhradam Suhradam
Junior Satyam vs Suhradam Satyam
Senior Sundaram vs Suhradam Sundaram

Written by: Aryan Patel, Jay Bhakta (Grade 9)